Resources - Sleephaven Sleep Consultation: Helping Tired Families Sleep

Resources

 

While Sleephaven does not necessarily endorse organizations or sell any products, we have listed services, resources and products that clients have found useful. Safety standards can change. Please read product review and safety information carefully before purchasing or using any product for your baby. We also recommend that you check for product recalls with Health Canada. Please complete your own research into individual service providers.

 

INFORMATION FOR PARENTS

Setting The Clock Back
Sleep Averages: Monthly Guidelines
The Basics: Getting Started on Good Sleep
Sleep Environment: Setting Your Child Up for Success
Getting Enough Sleep
Crying 101

 

LOCAL RESOURCES

Breastfeeding

La Leche League Edmonton:  http://www.lllc.ca/find-group-alberta

Pam Davey:  http://birthing.wix.com/sinceforever#

Erie Melnychuk:  erie@edmontonibclc.ca

 

Parent Support Groups

Post Partum Awareness (lists resources in Alberta):  http://www.ppda.ca/

New Moms Network:  http://www.albertahealthservices.ca/services.asp?pid=service&rid=7822

Parent Link Alberta:  http://humanservices.alberta.ca/family-community/15576.html

Mommy Connections:  http://www.mommyconnections.ca/about/

Modern Mama:  http://www.modernmama.com/

Momstown:  http://edmonton.momstown.ca/about-us

Edmonton Twin and Triplet Club:  http://www.ettc.ca/

National Organization of Moms of Twins:  http://www.nomotc.org

 

Specialists

Occupational Therapists:

Society of Alberta Occupational Therapists:  http://www.saot.ca/findot.php

Alberta College of Occupational Therapists: www.acot.ca

Alberta Health Services:  http://www.albertahealthservices.ca/services.asp?pid=service&rid=1001487

Mindful Movement Inc.:  http://www.mindfulmovementinc.com/

 

Doulas:

Doula Association of Edmonton:  http://edmontondoula.org/

 

ONLINE RESOURCES

Breastfeeding/Nutrition

Milkalicious – a Breastfeeding Lifestyle:  www.milkalicious.com

La Leche League International:  http://www.lllc.ca/find-group-alberta

On Parenting and Breastfeeding:  www.kellymom.com

Breastfeeding Mother’s Guide: www.makingmoremilk.com

Shari Criso Blog:  www.sharicriso.com

Canadian Pediatric Society:  www.cps.ca/

American Academy of Pediatrics:  www.aap.org/

Unicef Start 4 Life:  http://www.unicef.org.uk/Documents/Baby_Friendly/Leaflets/otbs_leaflet.pdf

Dr. Jack Newman:  http://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/index.php

Medela:  http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/

 

Co-Sleeping/Safe Sleeping Practices

Safe Sleep 7:  http://www.llli.org/sweetsleepbook/tearsheets

Safe Co-Sleeping Guidelines:  http://cosleeping.nd.edu/safe-co-sleeping-guidelines/

Parent’s Guide to Safe Sleep:  www.healthychildcare.org/pdf/SIDSparentsafesleep.pdf

SIDS America  www.sidsamerica.org/

SIDS Canada:  www.sidscanada.org/

First Candle Resources:  www.firstcandle.org

Unicef:  http://www.unicef.org.uk/BabyFriendly/Resources/Resources-for-parents/Caring-for-your-baby-at-night/

 

General

Infant Sleep Information Source:  http://www.isisonline.org.uk/

Circle of Security:  http://www.circleofsecurity.net/

Swaddling:  www.lovetodream.com.au

Dr. Harvey Karp:  www.happiestbaby.com

 

GER/GERD

Infant Reflux and Colic:  www.eves-best.com/LivingwithInfantAcidReflux.pdf

Living with Reflux:  http://www.livingwithreflux.org/

Infant Reflux:  http://www.infantreflux.org/

 

Plagiocephaly

Plagiocephaly Resources for Parents:  www.plagiosupport.org

SickKids:  http://www.sickkids.ca/Craniofacial/What-we-do/Craniofacial-Conditions/Positional-Plagiocephaly/index.html

 

Post Partum Depression

Post Partum Awareness lists resources in Alberta:  http://www.ppda.ca/

Shoshana Bennett:  www.drshosh.com

National Library of Medicine:  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0004481/

Pacific Postpartum Support Society:  http://www.postpartum.org/

Postpartum Progress:  http://www.postpartumprogress.com/

 

SIDS

SIDS Canada:  www.sidscanada.org/

Nathional SIDS and Infant Death Resource:  http://www.sidscenter.org/

First Candle Resources:  www.firstcandle.org

Canadian Pediatric Society:  www.cps.ca/

American Academy of Pediatrics:  www.aap.org/

 

PRODUCTS

Apps

Automatic “shushing” to soothe:  www.babyshusher.com

Tracking baby schedules:  www.trixietracker.com

Minimize blue light emissions from electronics: http://justgetflux.com

 

Baby Sign Language

My Smart Hands:  http://mysmarthands.com/

 

Lights

The Good Nite Lite Toddler “clock”:  http://www.goodnitelite.com/index.php

Low-blue light products:  www.lowbluelights.com

SomniLight:  http://somnilight.com/
 

Blackout Blinds

Gro Anywhere Blind:  http://www.snugglebugz.ca/

Blackout EZ Window Cover:  http://www.blackoutez.com/

Shiftshade:  http://www.shiftshade.com/

 

White Noise Machines

Marpac Sleepmate:   https://www.marpac.com/

Product Comparisons:  http://www.sleeplikethedead.com/soundmachine-compare.html

 

Sleep Aids

Wonder Bumpers:  http://www.gomamagodesigns.com/

Breathable Bumpers:  http://www.breathablebaby.com/

Arms Reach Co-sleeper Bassinette:  http://www.armsreach.com/

Escape-proof Travel Cot:  http://philandteds.com/ca-en/Products/Sleep/traveller

Miracle Blanket:  http://www.miracleblanket.com/

Woombie Swaddle Sack:  https://www.halosleep.com/

Magic Sleep Suit:  www.magicsleepsuit.com

Halo Sleep Sack:  https://www.halosleep.com/

Sign up to the Blog

Don't miss a post! Receive new blog posts via email.
* = required field

Follow us on Facebook

Blog Archive